115 W. 5th Street
PO Box 888
Big Timber, MT 59011

Commissioners: 406-932-5152

Commissioners: 406-932-5152

Commissioners: sgcommish@itstriangle.com

Board of County Commissioners

Sweet Grass County is governed by a Board of County Commissioners, the three commissioners file from one of the three districts and are elected at large, to six year staggered terms.

The board of county commissioners powers are outlined in state statue: All legislative, executive and administrative powers and duties of the local government not specifically reserved by law or ordinance to other elected officials reside in the Commission (MCA 7-3-401).

Sweet Grass County Commissioners, see to the day to day operations of county business, they prepare, review and decide the annual budget, also set and levy taxes. The Board, maintains county property and infrastructure, (including roads and bridges), sets policy, authorizes and signs all contracts. Individual commissioners serve on different boards that provide services to county citizens.


© 2024 Sweet Grass County | Website design and development by Classic Ink Creative